Taking a look at Kennedy Space Center before it’s too late…

The US government is shutting down the space program in Florida…do I care?  Well, yes I do!  No, I don’t really care about whether Americans get to be the first to play a game of basket ball on the moon, or whatever – WHATEVER!

I do admire the huge advances in all areas that benefit us outer spacephobics.  The tiny valves in heart replacements; the technology in cochlear implants; the improvements in surface traction of roads; food health standards –the list is almost as endless as space and all of it NASA developed.  We all have a better life because NASA wants to explore the final frontier. 

However, the new plan is to rent services from the Russians for a few years and then in 2016 start developing a new space program.  In the meantime all those experts employed at Kennedy Space Center can just go stack shelves at the local supermarket until they are needed in 2016 – I don’t think so!  I can’t help but think this has not been thought through properly.

On the other hand, we had a great time visiting!

this is as close as you get - close enough for me...

 

kind of messy! I expected them to be much neater with their wiring...call me fussy

I wear specs. so instead of sunglasses I wear this hat - or not...it looks better on Jojo - which also annoys me

she wasn't the only hat thief!

this granite constellation sphere is nine tons, and with effort and teamwork the kids could stop it and change its direction

It took him less than 30 seconds to throw dignity to the wind and join the kids!

1 Comment

Filed under Andy, Jojo, Niamhy, Spring Break

One response to “Taking a look at Kennedy Space Center before it’s too late…

  1. Oh good grief! Do you know how many times I’ve been down there and not visited? Argh! We planned our month last summer to fit in with a shuttle launch and they postponed it til September. Even a month wasn’t long enough to catch that. We bought a family ticket but never got round to using it.

    We are daft :/

Leave a Reply

