Healthier Chicken Enchiladas

This time of year is always tricky for me.  Andy and I join the thousands of others who want to eat better, lose weight etc.  but it is still winter and the girls still want the warm, comforting, fattening food that they associate with cold evenings.  (Yes, I know 55 f. doesn’t really count as cold for most of the world, but here in the South, that’s shivery).

So I was excited to find a recipe that is a little better than the 500+ calorie versions…ok, only a little better but 100 calorie drop per portion is enough for me!

Chicken Enchilada

salt and pepper

2 6oz chicken breasts

1 tbs. olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, thinly sliced (I hacked mine up with the onion)

1 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels

1/4 cup low-fat sour cream

1/2 cup fresh cilantro (coriander) , chopped

4oz cheese shredded (grated)

1 cup mild salsa

8 6 inch corn tortillas

Heat the oven to 400f. Half fill a saucepan with water.  Bring to boil and add some salt.  Add the chicken and reduce heat, simmer till cooked through, about 10 minutes.  Transfer to a plate, let cool; shred.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over a medium heat.  Add onion, bell pepper, salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally until tender,  about 6 minutes.   Stir in corn and sour cream. Fold in chicken, cilantro and 1/2 of the cheese.

Spread 1/2 a cup of the salsa in a 9×13 baking dish.  Roll the chicken mixture in the tortillas and place seam side down in the dish.  Top with remaining salsa and cheese.  Bake until beginning to brown, 8 to 10 minutes.  Yum!

This recipe came from an Eating Light magazine and I did not alter it, except to add more salsa…I also find I need to cook the chicken longer than they say. Hmmm.

It is 440 calories a portion (2 tortillas).  The recipe is for 4 people, but I found it stretched to 5 (I used 10 tortillas) and we had left overs…mainly because Imogen didn’t like it… she’s not very keen on corn.

My other New Year Resolution is to learn to play the saxophone – but no vlogs, I promise!  Although if Goldie Hawn starts to howl along with me I might be tempted….

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

