Recipe for the 11th day of Christmas

This one was supposed to be easy, or so I thought.  I knew exactly what I was doing with 11 Piper’s Piping.  Unfortunately, I got the proportions wrong, and it ended up very messy, but yummy, so I guess it worked out….

11 Piper’s Piping Piped Potatoes

Makes 16 potatoes

Prep: 10 minutes, cook: 20 minutes, Bake: 25 minutes

8 medium red potatoes (first mistake I think, the red potatoes skin was too thin for this recipe)

1/3 cup sour cream (the girls ate my sour cream, so I used ranch dip, so good)

1 tablespoon butter, melted

1/3 cup green onion finely chopped (spring onion)

1/3 cup finely grated Cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 375.   Boil up potatoes in salted water, for 15 to 20 minutes, or until tender; drain and let cool.

Cut a thin slice from both ends to form a flat base, cut potatoes in half crosswise.  Carefully scoop out potato pulp into a medium bowl, leaving about 1/8th inch of shells in tact.  (This is where it started to go horribly wrong for me, the skins split and tore, so I ended up throwing the skins away and winging it from here).

Add sour cream, butter, green onion and cheese to potato pulp and stir until well combined.  Spoon mixture into zip-top plastic bag fitted with a large star tip.  Pipe into potato shells.  Place fitted shells in a 13×9-inch baking pan.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until heated through.  I just piped potatoes mounds onto a sheet of parchment paper and put into the oven.  I think if the potato mix had less dip and was less runny this might have worked, but my mounds just spread and melted into each other….I had one huge potato pancake when I pulled the baking sheet out of the oven.  It was very yummy though, once I had scraped it back together though.  Oh, and if you know my girls, they think that is what is supposed to happen….

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

