12 Drummers Drumming! I made it…

Yes!  I did it!  Here is the 12th and final recipe for the 12 Recipes of Christmas.  Maybe I should try to modify the song…’On the first day of Christmas, my Mommy made for me, a pear galette and custard…’ maybe not.

Ok, so this was a no brainer – chicken drumsticks.  Except my kids have never eaten chicken on the bone, never.   Andy hates meat on the bone, so it is simply not a feature of our kitchen….  I made some drumsticks, but I also chopped some large chicken breasts into drumstick sized portions and cooked them.  Wise move, Niamhy and Jojo tried the drum sticks, but were really put off by the juiciness and dark meat.  Imogen thought she had died and gone to heaven!!  She had three very large drum sticks, with lots of sucking and slurping and wiping her hands on her trousers going on…

The recipe I used was  the one Sandra Lee used, except I left the spices out…if you are making these for adults or for kids who can tolerate spice, I recommend leaving it in!

Spicy Drumsticks

 

 

 

They looked a lot better in real life, honest!

 

makes 12 servings

Prep:15 minutes, Bake: 1 hour

12 large chicken drumsticks

3/4 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup whole milk

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper (I used less, Jojo is my most sensitive to spices, yet she loves freshly ground pepper!)

1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper (left out of my meal)

2 cups cornflake crumbs (great activity for a restless small person, get them to crush the cornflakes)

Preheat oven to 400. Place a wire rack on a baking sheet.  Spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a shallow bowl, stir together mayonnaise, milk, salt, black and red pepper.  In another shallow bowl, place cereal crumbs.

Dip chicken into mayonnaise mixture, and roll in breadcrumbs, (the chicken, not you…).

Place on prepared rack, and bake for one hour or until chicken is browned and juices run clear.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

