Recipe for the 4th day of Christmas

I’m glad I’m not trying this on the actual 12 days! My wonderful kids generously gave me the bug that has laid them low for a day or two. Thank goodness it hit me at the weekend when I could lie in bed till 2pm and leave Andy to look after the girls…totally threw out my 12 day culinary odyssey though…

 Any way, on with the 4th day of Christmas recipe. This one stunk, I could not think of any recipe that was great for 4 calling birds. My inspiration, Sandra Lee, made a turkey dinner for this day. Who the heck wants a turkey dinner with all the trimmings 4 days after Christmas?? I could have baked 4 and 20 blackbirds in a pie, apparently, the calling birds were actually colley birds or black birds. Now at this point I’m thinking what kind of true love is this dude? Who wants blackbirds for a gift? Or in a pie even? He was one serious whacko…

Finally, I came across this recipe and decided it would have to do! I can’t find out why they are called this …but they are great tasting!

Calling Bird Cookies

 Prep:30 mins Cook:10 mins Ready in 3 hours

1 cup Butter, softened

1 cup sugar

 1 egg

2 teaspoons almond extract

 2.5 cups all purpose flour (plain)

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoons orange juice

 ¼ cup light corn syrup

2 teaspoons water

 1 teaspoon sugar

 In a large bowl cream butter and sugar; add egg and almond extract. With mixer on low, add flour, baking powder and orange juice. Blend well.

Divide into three portions, wrap in plastic wrap and chill in fridge about 2 hours.

 Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

 On a lightly floured surface roll out cookie dough, a third at a time to about ¼ to 1/8 thickness. Cut out cookies with bird cookie cutters, place on a lightly greased baking sheet. (I only had ducks and baby chick cookie cutters, ho-hum)

Brush with corn syrup and water mixed together. Bake 6-9 minutes, or until edges slightly browned.

Cool one minute, transfer to cooling rack, while still warm, brush with corn syrup and water mixture and sprinkle with sugar.

red sugar makes them look like they are bleeding

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

