A recipe for the first day of Christmas

Yes, I know it’s not the first day of Christmas, but I’m too excited by this idea to wait, and besides, I think I will be too busy on the actual first day…

I’m going to cook recipes on each day that kind of, sort of, fit with the words of the song; The Twelve Days of Christmas!  I am totally stealing this idea from Sandra Lee who is like Delia, only not.

So I give you…..Pear Galette! (what? You were expecting a partridge? Yuck.)

Serves 6

Prep: 20 minutes, Bake:30 minutes, Cool 15 minutes

pastry dough, ( I used the premade stuff, I would never do this for mince pies, but for everything else I do, weird..)  You need enough for an 11 inch round.

1/2 cup shredded (grated) cheddar cheese (4oz)

2 ripe red pears, cored and cut into one inch slices

2 ripe green pears, cored and cut into one inch slices

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar (1 3/4 ozs)

3 tablespoons all-purpose (plain) flour

1 large egg

1 tablespoon water

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1. preheat oven to 400.  Line a jelly roll pan with aluminum foil. Spray foil with nonstick cooking spray.

2. On floured surface roll dough into 11 inch circle; place on prepared pan.   Sprinkle with cheese, leaving a one inch border.

3. In a large bowl, combine pears, juice and nutmeg; tossing well.  Add brown sugar and flour; toss gently.  Arrange fruit on dough, piling higher in the center and leaving a two-inch border.  Fold edges of dough toward the center, pressing to seal.  (Dough will partially cover pears.)

4. In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and water. Brush dough lightly with egg mixture, and sprinkle with sugar.

5.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until crust is lightly browned.  Cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes before serving.

It was really yummy, but a bit sweet for my tastes.  Next time I will use much less sugar.

Ok, I’m off to trap a couple of turtle doves…

yummy, yummy, yummy

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “A recipe for the first day of Christmas

  1. Tes

    Ohhh I am stunned by this picture. I love pear and this sounds so delicious.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

