Boston Tea Party

This time of year is freaky for me in the school.  Round about now is when 4th grade study the Boston Tea Party and even re-enact it…They can be heard in the hallways muttering about how mean the British (are) were, and are obviously dumb founded by the British viewpoint. For the record I wasn’t there at the time kids, and I’m damn sure none of my relatives worked for the British Government or the British East India Company then, but I still feel strangely guilty.  So I creep around the halls keeping my plumy British accent to myself….

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Boston Tea Party

  1. Lying low sounds a good idea, saying ‘darned colonials’ like my uncle did during a stint living in Boston not such a good plan!

    • veryanniemary

      Strangely I feel the urge to shout ‘What ho!’ when I see someone in the hall – or ‘Jolly good show’ Phrases I doubt even my grandparents used.

      I think Boston calls for an Irish accent! Both my older girls want to go see that area, so I guess I am going to have to bite the bullet and drive up in the summer to retrace Paul Ravere’s ride. I guess we can legitimately stick our heads out of the window and shout ‘The British are coming, the British are coming…’

Leave a Reply

